The story behind YFood 

Founders. With strong foundations. 

Long, stressful work days and almost no time for healthy food. When working together in the finance industry, YFood founders Ben and Noël often resorted to fast food. “It’s quick, but you start feeling miserable again just as quickly afterwards”, Ben explains.

When the constant junk food slowly but surely began to affect their health, the two of them set out to find an alternative. When they couldn’t find one, the two of them took matters into their own hands and developed the idea of YFood.

“We quickly realised that our idea had the potential to help many others to eat more healthily”, says Noël looking back. And because Ben and Noël don’t like doing things by halves, they put all their eggs in one basket! They quit their secure, well-paid jobs, jumped in at the deep end and started their mission: to enable healthy nutrition in every situation.

Together with leading food technologists, the two of them tried out various recipes to develop a drink that is balanced and healthy. And it tastes good, too! Both founders were very aware that enjoyment is part of a good, positive diet. But they soon realised this would not be as easy as they had thought.

“The first recipes were balanced and healthy. But they tasted absolutely awful”, Ben recalls. So the two of them and their team continued their research with even more persistence. Several recipe changes, taste tests and months later the time had finally come: the first drink was ready, and it was an instant hit with the entire team!

Throughout the development of YFood, the founders never lost focus of the environment, and the importance of sustainability in today's world.

“We use 100% recyclable HDPE packaging, and our bottles are already made from 30% recycled plastic. However, we know there is great potential for improvement and we are working on a more sustainable alternative.”

“We approached the whole thing very analytically and technologically, but when it came to taste, in the end it was actually gut feeling that decided the right composition”, said the founders.

That was just the start of this success story. Today, the YFood team in Munich includes over 50 food-tech enthusiasts. Satisfied customers in 26 countries can use the online shop to get YFood delivered to their doors.

And Ben and Noël have big plans. “Whether it's with our ready to drink meal, drink powder, or our bars, we want to do our part to curb excessive junk food consumption. In the future, we want to help even more people, on other continents as well, to find a balanced diet.”

GET YOUR €5 VOUCHER!

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive €5 off your next purchase.

You can unsubscribe from the newsletter at any time.
You can find our privacy policy here.

Die Story hinter YFood

Gründer. Aus guten Gründen.

Lange, stressige Arbeitstage und kaum Zeit für gesunde Ernährung. Die YFood Gründer Ben und Noel griffen während ihrer gemeinsamen Zeit in der Finanzindustrie öfter mal zu Fast Food. „Das geht zwar schnell, aber genauso schnell fühlt man sich nach dem Essen irgendwie miserabel“, resümiert Ben heute.

Als das ständige Junk-Food sich langsam aber sicher auf die Gesundheit auswirkte, machten sich die beiden auf die Suche nach einer Alternative. Da es die nicht gab, überlegten sich die beiden kurzerhand selbst eine – und entwickelten die Idee zu YFood.

„Wir haben dann schnell gemerkt, dass unsere Idee das Potential hat, auch vielen anderen dabei zu helfen, sich gesünder zu ernähren“, sagt Noel rückblickend. Und weil Ben und Noel nur ungern halbe Sachen machen, setzten sie alles auf eine Karte! Sie kündigten ihre sicheren, gut bezahlten Jobs, sprangen ins kalte Wasser und starteten ihre Mission: bewusste Ernährung für alle Menschen einfacher zu machen.

Gemeinsam mit führenden Lebensmitteltechnologen probierten die beiden verschiedenste Rezepturen aus, um ein Getränk zu entwickeln, das ausgewogen und gesund ist. Und dazu auch noch schmeckt! Denn beide Gründer waren sich bewusst darüber, dass Genuss einfach zu einer guten, positiven Ernährung dazu gehört. Doch schnell stellte sich heraus, dass das gar nicht so einfach ist.

„Die ersten Rezepturen waren zwar ausgewogen und gesund. Doch sie schmeckten einfach fürchterlich“, erinnert sich Ben. Umso hartnäckiger forschten die beiden mit ihrem Team weiter. Etliche Rezepturänderungen, Geschmackstests und Monate später war es dann endlich soweit: Der erste Drink war fertig, der gleich dem gesamten Team auf Anhieb schmeckte!

„Wir sind das Ganze sehr analytisch und technologisch angegangen, aber beim Thema Geschmack hat am Ende tatsächlich das Bauchgefühl über die richtige Zusammensetzung entschieden“, so die Gründer.

Und so nahm die Erfolgsgeschichte ihren Lauf. Heute zählt das YFood Team in München über 40 Food-Tech-Enthusiasten. Über den Onlineshop werden zufriedene Kunden in über 26 Statten Europas beliefert.

Um die bewusste Ernährung mit ausgewogenen Trinkmahlzeiten möglichst vielen Menschen zugänglich zu machen, ist YFood auch im stationären Handel verfügbar.

In Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz beispielsweise bei Edeka, Rewe, Kaufland, Tegut, Orter und V-Markt. Auch in Drogeriemärkten wie Rossmann und Müller sowie bei Tankstellen wie Aral, Lekkerland und Selecta ist YFood bereits erhältlich.

Und Ben und Noel haben noch Großes vor. „Egal, ob mit unserer Trinkmahlzeit, dem Trinkpulver, oder unseren Riegeln – wir wollen unseren Beitrag leisten, um übermäßigen Junk-Food-Konsum einzudämmen. In Zukunft wollen wir noch mehr Menschen, auch auf anderen Kontinenten, den Weg zu einer ausgewogenen Ernährung erleichtern.“